Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

3 Sep

When Sex in the City was running on HBO some years ago every Sunday it never failed Mariya and I were on the sofa with a bowl of Breyers Oreo Mint Chocolate Ice Cream!  We did this for every show until the finale.  During the summer we would go thru easily a gallon of ice cream.  A few years back I thought I would try my hand at making ice cream so I bought a cheap ice cream maker.  It stayed in the box and I returned.  It just seemed like to much work to mix it and then churn it.  Several months ago I started looking at getting an ice cream maker again.  I decided on a cheap Cuisinart and I was shopping at Costco and they had the same one I was looking for so I decided to buy it and try again.  I made the vanilla bean recipe that came with the machine and OMG it was delicious!  I thought ok I can do this.  My next try was a lemon lavender sorbet.  It was so refreshing and unlike anything I’ve had before other than the framboise rose sorbet in Paris!  I came across David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop.  I love reading cookbooks and this one is no exception.  The pictures and flavor combos have my head spinning with ideas.  One of our favorite flavors from Baskin Robbins is chocolate peanut butter.  I wasn’t to crazy about his recipe for chocolate peanut butter but the milk chocolate ice cream sounded delicious and I added the peanut butter to it and I had the most delicious, richest and creamiest ice cream.  So without further ado I give you my adaptation.

Adapted from David Lebovitz “The Perfect Scoop”

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

  • 10 ounces total of milk and dark chocolate
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter

Combine the chocolate and cream in the top of a double boiler of simmering water.  Stir until chocolate is melted.  If there are some bits of solid chocolate that is ok as it will harden into chocolate chips and was rather good in the ice cream.  Remove from the double boiler.  Set aside and place a mesh strainer over the top.

In another saucepan warm the milk and sugar.  In a separate bowl whisk the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks whisking constantly until mixed.  Return the egg/milk back into the saucepan.

Stir constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula while scraping the bottom as you stir.  Do this until the mixture thickens up and will coat the spatula.  Pour custard through the strainer that was placed over the milk chocolate mixture.  Stir in the peanut butter.

Chill thoroughly in the refrigerator then freeze as per your ice maker’s instructions.  Makes about 1 1/2 quarts.

Leave a Reply

