Gruyere-Chive Popovers

19 Sep

Where I live in Charlotte my favorite grocery store is Harris Teeter.  They have a lot of great stuff and in the better neighborhoods the selection is, better!  Everytime I go however I have to browse the gourmet cheese section.  I love to squeeze the soft cheeses, I can’t help myself.  I browse for the specials because a few days before expry date they mark the items down to 1/2 price.  I have picked up some fabulous cheeses and butter from France that are truly outstanding.  The best part is I can freeze it for later use to cook with or just cheese and crackers with a nice bottle of wine when Larry is home.  When I was at a craft store earlier in the week and they had some cookbooks marked down.  I don’t buy as many cookbooks lately but if it’s special, ie. nice pictures, awesome recipes and on sale I will get it.  I got several cookbooks because they were only $3 a piece and picked up some for Mariya but I did keep one for myself.  So on my latest trip to the Teeter I picked up some gruyere cheese on special and when Larry was home one Saturday I made these.  The recipe makes 24.  You will need a mini muffin pan non-stick preferred.  I think Larry ate about 16 of these.  They are small and very tasty.

Adapted from Williams Sonoma Small Plates

Gruyere-Chive Popovers

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon each salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon fresh chives, finely snipped
  • 1 1/4 cups milk, at room temperature
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon salted butter, melted
  • 4 oz gruyere cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 450F.  Generously oil 2 mini muffin pans or spray with Pam.  In a large bowl whisk together the flour, salt, pepper and chives.

In another bowl whisk together the milk, eggs and butter.  Add the dry ingredients and whisk until combined.  Some lumps will remain which is ok.

Fill the prepared muffin cups to about 1/4 inch of the rim.  Place a teaspoon of the cheese on top in the center.

Bake for 10 minutes without opening the oven door.  Reduce the temperature of the oven to 350 and bake until popovers are brown, crusty and puffed 10 minutes longer.

Transfer to a plate and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

