Tuna Casserole

19 Sep

This is another recipe I have been making for many years.  Not sure quite when or how I came up with it but I have been making it for over 30+ years now.  It is the best tuna casserole I have ever eaten and even Mariya is now making it for the family.  It uses all convenience/canned items that is easily thrown together but everyone who has had this really likes it.  In fact, when I was first dating my current husband,Larry, he had worked at a frozen daiquiri shop where we lived in New Orleans.  He had to work and he called me inquiring what I was making for dinner.  I told him I was making my tuna casserole and he told me he really did not like tuna casserole and would pass.  So he calls me shortly after that and says he’s really hungry would I bring him some.  I brought him some to work and after I get home I get another call and its Larry telling me that was the best tuna casserole he ever had, enuf said!  Oh, and this is a real kid pleaser!

Tuna Casserole

  • one package Kraft deluxe mac and cheese, or Velvetta cheese and shells, or Pasta Roni shells and white cheddar
  • 1 5 oz can tuna packed in water
  • 1 10.5 oz can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 14.5 oz can green beans, regular cut or french style
  • velvetta cheese sliced
  • 1 3 oz can french fried onions

Make the mac and cheese according to package directions.

Drain the tuna and green beans.  Add to mac and cheese along with the soup.  Stir.

Spread half of the mixture into a 6 cup casserole dish.

Top with a layer of Velvetta cheese.

Spread remaining mac and cheese mixture over the velvetta and place in 350F oven for 25 minutes.  Top with the french fried onions.

Bake for an additional 5 minutes til the onions are lightly browned.

Let cool for 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

