Cantelope Sorbet

24 Sep

Larry is always bringing home fresh fruits and vegetables.  I think he buys too much and can’t eat it all.  I try to utilize what he brings home but sometimes it does go to waste.  He brought home a cantelope so I decided to make some sorbet with it.  I would just ordinarily eat it but Mariya had gotten a large Edible Arrangements from her fiancee that included melon.  I can only eat so much!  I must say that cantelope was the best tasting I have had for this season and it was almost a shame to not just eat it.  Almost! So I got my Vita Mix blender ready to puree some cantelope and made sure my bowls were in the freezer for the ice cream maker. I just threw this together.  While it was churning I went outside with the puppies to let them play.  I was sitting in the hammock and I can see directly into the kitchen.  I saw Larry stealing a taste of the sorbet while it was churning.  He’s one of my biggest fans. We love this sorbet, it is so refreshing.   The cantelope was pretty large so I had to use both my freezer bowls to mix this, it really made alot which is good for us as Mariya can tear this stuff up!

Cantelope Sorbet

  • 1 cantelope
  • 1/2 cup sugar or more if the melon is not very sweet
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1/2 melon liquor

Slice melon.  Remove seeds and cut away from the rind.

Puree the melon in the blender.  Add remaining ingredients.

Place in bowl and put in refrigerator until chilled.

Churn in ice cream maker as per manufacturers directions.

Freeze until firm.

Leave a Reply

