Green Chili and Chicken Chilaquiles

26 Sep

Our last trip to Mexico this past February my husband and I went to Cabo San Lucas with our timeshare.  We were in a gorgeous resort on the bay a few miles from town and it was during the whale migration season.  My husband and I would sit on our balcony and watch the whales!  It was an incredible site to see the whales and I had a new camera and did not know how to capture these whales as they were breaching etc.  Needless to say I got alot of pictures of splashes but the real picture is imprinted in my memory.  Anyways we participated in 3 timeshare tours and got lots of tours, blankets, and meal certificates.  But every tour included breakfast and at every breakfast they had chilaquiles!  Oh my did I love this side dish and I love the way its pronounced chila-key-less.  I had a few friends over for dinner some time ago and my one friend loves mexican (as do I) and I was looking in my cookbook and came across this recipe so I decided to make it.  However I failed to take pictures of the dish as I was making it so the only picture I have is what is printed from the book. 

Adapted from perfect Mexican

Green Chili and Chicken Chilaquiles

Serves 4-6

  • 16 stale corn tortillas
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 chicken breasts
  • salsa verde (I got this from a local international store)
  • 3 tablespoons fresh cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon mexican oregano
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 16 oz queso blanco or queso fresco cheese
  • 16 oz chicken stock

Preheat oven to 375F.  Place the tortillas in a pan and lightly brush with the oil.  Bake for 30 minutes or until crispy and golden.  Cool and tear into medium size pieces.

Cook chicken, my preferred method is in the crock pot filled with water until chicken is falls apart.  Shred chicken.

Arrange half the chicken in a 9×13 pan.  Sprinkle with half of the salsa, and the cilantro, oregano, garlic, cumin and 1/3 of the cheese.  Top with half the tortilla pieces and repeat layers.

Pour stock over the top and then sprinkle the remaining cheese.

Bake in oven at same temperature for 30 minutes.

Serve with fresh guacamole, sour cream, green onions and fresh pico.

Leave a Reply

