Tres Leches Cake

3 Oct

I came across a similar recipe in the Southern Living magazine.  It was called coconut cake but I had added other ingredients to become my Tres Leches Cake.  I like to make this in the summer because it is so refreshing and I usually have to make it for my husbands birthday, and Cinco De Mayo or if a co-worker requests this cake I just have to oblige!   I bring in a lot of food to share with my co-workers or if we do snack day etc.  Since I like to experiment with different recipes and ingredients I usually come up with some odd combinations and Sarah always loves everything I do.  She always says I come up with strange things but it always tastes good!  She came to me last week and requested my tres leches cake as she loved it when I made it for Cinco De Mayo.  Who am I to refuse?  I love all the OMG, the “to die for” and recipe requests I get and this recipe was no exception.  BTW when you get to the middle is where you will find even more of the milk soaked cake!  You will need a plate and fork for this cake.

Tres Leches Cake

  • 1 box french vanilla cake mix
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 smallest can evaporated milk
  • 1 8 oz container Cool Whip
  • 1 cup shredded coconut, optional

Make the cake mix as per box ingredients.  Bake in 13×9 sheet pan.  When cake is done remove from oven and poke holes in the cake down to the bottom.  I use the bottom of a wooden spoon to create the larger holes.

Mix the 3 milks together and immediately pour over cake.  Let sit til cake is room temperature.  Top with Cool Whip.  Keep in refrigerator overnight to let the cake soak up the milk.  If desired toast the shredded coconut in 350 oven til lightly browned about 10-15 minutes.

Since some of my family does not like the coconut I only spread over half the cake. 

2 Responses to “Tres Leches Cake”

  1. Rita October 10, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    I had the pleasure of tasting this very rich & delicous cake..highly reconmended..good job diane..I look forward to more of your yummy recipes. thanks..

    • Diane October 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      Thanks Rita! Stay tuned for more goodies at the office due to holidays and upcoming birthdays.

Leave a Reply

