Baba Ganousch

10 Oct

A friend had told me about a new international market in Charlotte because she knew I liked to try different types of food.  I’ve been in a few little markets in the area and was never impressed or inspired.  When a market is listed as a european market and the only food items available are Russian, that’s a big let down.  On my friends recommendation I went to the market on my lunch hour.  OMG is all I can say.  I felt like a kid in a massive candy store!  Impressed, yes indeed!  Inspired, absolutely!  This place had it all and then some.  We love to shop in the corner markets or the supermarkets when we travel internationally.  We buy items to bring home with us and savor every drop or bite til its gone and wish to return to get more.  I was able to find a lot of these products in this market.  For the Charlotteans, this is the Super G market on Independence Blvd.  The prices for produce are very good but I did find you need to use the produce within days.  Not a problem here.    I had already bought some tahini from the natural market and the eggplant at the Super G was lovely and cheap so I decided to try this eggplant dip. 

I prefer this dip to be served warm.  While it is very good but I felt like there was too much lemon.  Next time I will half the amount of lemon but in the recipe listed I will allow for the full portion.

Adapted from David Lebovitz, http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2008/07/baba-ganosh/

Baba Ganousch

makes 8 servings

  • 2 medium-sized eggplants or 1 large eggplant
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons sea salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon ancho chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • half bunch cilantro leaves

Preheat the oven to 375F.  Prick the eggplants a few times.  Place on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil and roast in oven about 30 minutes until completely soft.  Test by inserting a paring knife into the eggplants.  Remove from oven and let cool.

Split the eggplant and scrape out the pulp. Place the pulp along with all other ingredients in blender or food processor and process until smooth.

Season with additional salt  if necessary. Chill for a few hours before serving. Serve with pita bread.

Can be made and refrigerated for up to five days prior to serving.

Leave a Reply

