Berry Blue Cheese Spread

10 Nov

Any reason I can find to cook or bake I am all about it!  We are celebrating a co-workers birthday so I decided to also do a dip along with cupcakes (recipe to follow).  I adore appetizers and can make a wonderful meal that would cause me to float in the air sighing in deep contentment (see my facebook page where I was in heaven enjoying an artisan ciabetta bread, supreme brie cheese and a bottle of pinot grigio).  Good food makes me very happy and this dip is another reason.  I’ve made this dip before to share with friends and co-workers.  I prefer outside the office to enjoy with a lovely bottle of wine but I digress.  I like the funky ingredients of this and it all works.  I’ve also become a fan of blue cheese but in moderation and this dip fits that bill.  With the holidays coming up this is just in time.

Adapted from Better Homes and Garden

Berry Blue Cheese Spread

makes about 2 cups

  • 1/2  cup  dried blueberries
  • 1  cup  boiling water
  • 1  8-oz. pkg.  cream cheese, softened
  • 6  oz.  blue cheese, coarsely crumbled
  • 2    green onions, chopped
  • 1  clove  garlic, minced
  • 1/2  cup  coarsely chopped pecans
  • Assorted whole grain crackers or cracker bread, broken

Place dried berries in a small bowl. Pour boiling water over berries. Let stand for 1 minute. Drain; set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl beat cream cheese and blue cheese by hand until nearly smooth. Stir in drained berries, green onions, and garlic just until combined.

Coarsely chop pecans by hand and stir in cheese.  Refrigerate a few hours so flavors can meld together.

Leave a Reply

