Corn Casserole

27 Nov

I came across this recipe from the Southern Living magazine back in the mid 90’s.  I made this for a holiday dinner and it has been a part of all holiday dinners ever since.  This is a family and friends favorite with the exception of Mariya who is not crazy about it but that’s ok, more for the rest of us!  I rarely deviate from the holiday meals as those dishes are typically only made at those times.  Sometimes I will make 2 of these casseroles if I have a big turkey for all those fabulous leftovers because there never seems to be enough and this holiday proved to be the same.  I actually prefer this using a cornbread mix versus straight cornmeal.  I think it’s moister and I prefer the texture but I provided both options.

Adapted from Southern Living magazine

Corn Casserole

Makes 8 side dish servings

  • 1 15 1/4 oz can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 14 1/4 can cream-style corn
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1/2 stick margarine or butter, melted
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal or cornbread mix

In a large mixing bowl combine all ingredients and stir until moistened.

Pour corn mixture into a 2 quart greased casserole.  Bake in a 350F oven for 50-60 minutes or til lightly browned and set in the center.

Leave a Reply

