Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

20 Dec

My part-time job has me working every Sunday evening.  We are now 5 days away from Christmas and the closing time has been extended from 7 to 11pm so I managed to change my shift to a mid-shift.  This meant once again I needed a meal to put together quickly and have it done by the time I got home in the evening.  I got my beloved trusty crockpot out and decided to try this recipe that I found on the internet about a year ago and have been wanting to try.  I put my family to the vote and it was unanimous to try the buffalo chicken and since it was less work I was all for it.  After working the longest 6 1/2 hours yet I came home to the smell of the completed lasagna and my mouth was watering!  I was ravenous as I had nothing to eat all day but 4 crackers and pimento cheese.  I was telling all my co-workers that when I got home I was grabbing a plate of lasagna and my dogs and hopping in the bed with my laptop and that is exactly what I did.  Let me tell you, this lasagna was kicking!  What a great combination and to do it in the crockpot was to easy.  My crockpot runs hot and while I added extra water in the end, one side did burn a little but not much and it did not affect the taste of this meal. 

Adapted from http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/10/crockpot-buffalo-chicken-lasagna-recipe.html

Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

  • 1 box uncooked lasagna noodles
  • 3 chicken breasts, previously cooked
  • 1 jar prepared pasta sauce
  • 1 cup buffalo wing sauce
  • 3 bell peppers (I used orange, red and yellow), chopped
  • 1 tub of ricotta cheese (15 ounces)
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles
  • 2/3 cup water

Use at least a 5-quart oblong shape crockpot.

in a large bowl, combine cooked and chopped chicken breasts, pasta sauce and buffalo wing sauce.

Ladle a big spoonful of the sauce into the bottom of the crockpot.  Cover with a layer of the uncooked lasagna noodles.  You may need to break some to fit in the crockpot.  I was able to use 1 in the middle and for either side I broke 2 noodles in half and slightly overlapped the middle pieces.

Add dollops of ricotta cheese to the top of the noodles.  Add a layer of peppers and sprinkle with a handful of mozzarella cheese.  Top with a large spoonful of the sauce.

Repeat layers until you use up all ingredients.  I got about 5 layers.

Top the last layer with the blue cheese crumbles.  Put the water into your empty pasta sauce jar and shake.  Pour the liquid over the top of the entire lasagna.

Cover and cook on low about 6-7 hours.  When cooking time is complete, unplug and remove the lid.  Let sit for about 20 minutes before cutting into or it will fall apart.

Leave a Reply

