Crockpot Chicken Brunswick Stew

10 Jan

The one thing I like about a cold blustery day is to make this stew and serve it with hot and fresh out of the oven bread.  There is nothing better and today was one of those days.  They started calling for snow late tonight already this past Friday.  Yesterday was chilly and very windy so when I woke up today I was trying to decide what to throw together in the crockpot that I don’t have to run to the store for any ingredients, then I remembered this stew.  I always have everything on hand for this stew.  Oh was the house smelling good!  I managed to grab a bowl before heading into work.  I had to text Mariya  how good it was.  Well when she got home she had responded back to me how delicious the stew was.  Even when I came home from work 5 hours later I could smell it outside as I was walking to the door.  I had to have more.  Anyways I came across this recipe in the newspaper many years ago.  I make it several times a year in the winter.  My family all loves it and its so easy, how can you go wrong with a dish like this?

Adapted from Sherri Madden’s Recipes & Remembrances: The Sellers FAmily Cookbook

Crockpot Chicken Brunswick Stew

makes 8-10 servings

  • 2 medium size onions, chopped
  • 2-3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2-15 oz cans cream-style corn
  • 1-28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1-14 1/2 oz can chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 2-4 tablespoons butter or margarine, cut up
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons yellow mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon each salt, pepper, hot pepper sauce

Place onions in a 4-5 qt crockpot.  Place chicken pieces over  the onions.  Add corn and remaining ingredients.

Cook, covered, on high setting for 4 hours or until chicken is tender.  Remove cooked chicken, shred meat and return to crockpot.  Continue to cook on low 1-2 hours.

Leave a Reply

