Meyer Lemon-Limoncello Cupcakes

19 Jan

I always like to make a special dessert snack for New Years Eve.  Normally I would do a rum cake but since lately I am baking to come up with ideas for Mariya’s wedding I decided to doing something else.  I had a jar of lemon curd that I needed to use and googled for limoncello cupcakes since I also happen to have a bottle of limoncello chilling in the freezer.  I found this recipe and while it used a homemade lemon curd I used my purchased curd instead.  I actually tried to make curd before and was not crazy about the results.  To date I have used lemon, key lime, raspberry and orange curds and they were all great so any recipe that actually makes their own curd I will substitute the purchased stuff.   I made these cupcakes the night before NYE and doubled the recipe to get 2 dozen.  The kids were going to a friends house for game night and I sent some cupcakes their way.   We gave a few to our neighbor who thoroughly enjoyed them.  I figured I would have a few cupcakes to take to work.  Well that never happened.  These are really good cupcakes.  Nice and lemony with the curd, limoncello and meyer lemon.  Anyways it was voted in as the 3rd cupcake flavour for the wedding.  

Adapted from Tartelette’s http://www.tarteletteblog.com/2009/07/recipe-meyer-lemon-limoncello-cupcakes.html

Meyer Lemon-Limoncello Cupcakes

Makes 1 dozen

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 oz (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons limoncello
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • zest of one lemon
  • jar lemon curd

Preheat oven to 350F.  In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking powder and salt: set aside.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter, cream cheese and sugar on medium speed until light and creamy about 3 minutes.  Add the eggs one at a time and beat well after each addition.  Add limoncello and beat for another minute. 

 On low speed add flour mixture and alternate with the buttermilk.  Add the lemon juice and zest and mix on low just until blended in.  Fill muffin cups 2/3 with batter. 

 Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Let cool completely.

Cut a hole in the center of each cupcake.  Fill each hole with store bought lemon curd. 

Fill a pastry bag with star tip (I used Wilton’s 1M) with the frosting and pipe onto each cupcake.

Cream Cheese Limoncello Frosting

  • 2 oz unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 4 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon limoncello
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

In a mixing bowl with paddle attachment beat the butter and cream cheese on medium speed until light and creamy about 3 minutes.  Add limoncello and beat for an additional minute.  Reduce speed to low and add powdered sugar until incorporated and smooth.

Leave a Reply

