Cream Cheese Pound Cake

21 Jan

This is Mariya’s favorite pound cake recipe and I have to admit it is the best pound cake I have ever had.  I came across it in Southern Livings Desserts Nov 1991 cook booklet.  This a recipe I make several times a year.  This is the only pound cake recipe I make as it is that good.  I also like to make it at Christmas to bring into the office and when I tell my co-workers I brought my pound cake in, well it’s over at that point.  This is a nice dense and rich pound cake.  The batter is enough that I can do a small loaf size that usually has Mariya’s name on it.  Sometimes I also add coconut, vanilla and almond extracts to the batter or just stick to the vanilla, either way it’s good.  This cake also freezes well. 

Adapted from Southern Living

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 1 8 oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • dash of salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (or i will do a teaspoon each of vanilla, coconut, lemon and almond extracts)

Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer for 2 minutes or until cream.  Gradually add the sugar, beating 5-7 minutes.  Add eggs, 1 at a time beating until the yellow disappears.

Combine the flour and salt and add gradually to the butter mixture.  Beat at low speed just until blended.  Stir in the extract.  Pour into a greased and floured bundt pan.

Bake at 325F for 1 1/2 hours or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes and remove from pan and continue to cool on the rack.

Leave a Reply

