Green Tea Madeleine Cookies

21 Jan

Ever since our trip to Paris in 2009 I/we are obsessed with all things french.  So when Mariya became engaged it was only fitting to do a parisian themed wedding.  Since I am making everything for the dessert buffet I decided to include the madeleine cookie.  I never had this cookie and even when we were in Paris I did not try the madeleine.  I just like the shape of it because it’s a seashell shape and I love the ocean.  I bought a couple of the madeleine pans and since Larry was home I made a batch. 

This recipe comes from David Lebovitz book The Sweet Life in Paris.  This book combines his adventures living in Paris with fantastic recipes.  Having been there I can relate to his stories and I just have to laugh how true it is.  I envy him because his is a life I would love to live.  His recipe is for lemon glazed but he gave a few variations and I tried the green tea because I had the matcha powder and it called for orange zest and since I did not have lemons but Larry did have oranges it was the way to go.  The green tea variation called for a few swipes of zest and I added the zest of the whole orange.  It did overpower the green tea but that was my purpose.  This was the 2nd recipe I tried for the madeleines.  I prefer this recipe because I got the gorgeous hump that I like vs another recipe where there wasn’t much of a hump. 

I made these cookies one evening and Larry eat so many of them.  He had gone to the store to buy some vanilla Oreos and when he came home I already had them made.  He tried one and put the Oreos away.  He never had a madeleine before and said they were excellent.  I sent the remaining cookies with him to enjoy later.  They are light cookies and excellent with tea or coffee.  They are best served the day they are made but Larry said they were still great several days later.  Store them in an airtight container up to 3 days after baking or freeze plain cookies up to one month.  I plan on making more varieties in the future but will use this recipe as the basic because of the good results. 

Adapted from David Lebovitz The Sweet Life in Paris

Makes 24 regular size cookies

Green Tea Madeleines

  •  9 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • dash of salt
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder (preferably aluminum free)
  • 2 teaspoons green tea powder (matcha)
  • zest of 1 small orange

In the bowl of an electric mixer, whip the eggs, sugar and salt for 5 minutes until frothy and thickened.

Add the flour, baking powder and matcha and using a spatula to fold in the flour as it is being added gradually into the batter.

Add the orange zest to the cooled butter and slowly dribble the butter in the batter  while simultaneously folding it in with the spatula until all the butter is incorporated.  Cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least 1 hour up to but no longer than 12 hours.

Butter the madeleine molds lightly.  If using nonstick molds that is all you need to do otherwise dust with flour and tap off any excess. 

Preheat oven to 425F.  Using a teaspoon, plop a generous amount of batter into the center of the mold.  It does not have to fill the mold.  Leave the dough in a mound and do not spread as the heat from baking will spread it out.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until cakes feel springy and just set.  Remove from the oven and tilt the pan so cookies fall onto the cooling rack.

When cookies are cooled sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

