Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

31 Jan

I needed a quick easy dinner and in talking to a co-worker she told me about this recipe by Campbells using condensed soup.  I looked it up on the internet and I had all the ingredients on hand so I decided to make this for a weekday dinner.  I discovered that I did not have any picante sauce however I had a regular size can of El Paso green enchilada sauce.  It sounded like a useable substitute to me so I went with it.  This dinner was a hit especially with the guys.  They couldn’t get enough of it.  I don’t know if the green sauce is better than the picante but since I don’t care for the processed picante I will stick with the green sauce.  Another issue I had was the bottom of the enchiladas tended to be rather hard and somewhat crunchy so the next time I spread a very thin layer of the green sauce and that rectified that issue.  Then my last change was I cook the chicken in the crock pot so it is tender and juicier.  I also like to top the dish with more shredded cheese but I ran out this time.   Better make sure to add that this dish was made by Mariya with instruction by me as to the changes I made.  She brought this over to a friends house for game night.  She’s getting to be quite the little cook!

Adapted from Campbell’s Kitchen

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

  • 1 10.75 ounce can condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 10 ounce sour cream
  • 1 can green enchilada sauce or 1 cup picante sauce
  • 2 teaspoons ancho chili powder
  • 2 cups chopped cooked chicken
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 20 fajita size flour tortillas
  • optional toppings to include chopped tomato, green onion sliced, picante sauce, guacamole and sour cream

Mix soup, sour cream, picante sauce or enchilada sauce  (save a few spoonfuls for the baking pan), chili powder.

Mix 1 cup of the picante sauce mixture, chicken and cheese.

Spread a few large teaspoons of the chicken mixture down the center of each tortilla.  Roll up and place seam-side down in a 13×9 baking pan.

Pour remaining picante sauce mixture over enchiladas.  Cover.

Bake at 350F for 40 minutes or until hot.  Top with garnishes of your choice.

Leave a Reply

