Chicken Alfredo Lasagna

9 Mar

About a year ago I wanted to make lasagna but I did not want the traditional red sauce, red meat variety, afterall I rarely eat red meat and thought there has to be a recipe for something else other than a vegetarian lasagna.  My family likes meat so I have to be inventive with the chicken dishes and every once in a while I throw some red meat their way.  Chicken, alfredo sauce,  red peppers and various cheeses,thrown together into a casserole with a few other ingredients what could be better?!  But these ingredients were in 3 different recipes.  So I took the ingredients I liked and made it my own.  I used a roasted red pepper rather than a raw red pepper and I recommend finely dicing the onions unless you like bigger chunks of onion.  I also like a lot of alfredo sauce.  You can use 1 jar but I preferred using 2 this did make 5 big layers.

Chicken Alfredo Lasagna

  • 15 lasagna noodles, cooked
  • 2-16 oz jar white alfredo pasta sauce
  • 3 cups coarsely chopped cooked chicken
  • 1-14 oz artichoke hearts in water, drained and chopped
  • 1 roasted red bell pepper, chopped
  • ½ yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 pound mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • 1-8 oz package shredded Italian cheese blend
  • 1-8 oz container ricotta cheese
  • ½ cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 small package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained

 Preheat oven to 375.  In a large bowl combine the chicken, artichokes, bell pepper, onion, garlic, spinach and ½ package of the Italian cheese blend.  Mix well.  Divide mixture into fourths.

Spread a thin layer of the alfredo sauce over the bottom of a 9×13” baking dish.  Top with a layer of noodles.  Add a layer of chicken mixture, ricotta and mozzarella cheeses.  Drizzle sauce over the top and repeat layers.

Final layer consists of noodles, remaining sauce, remaining Italian cheese blend, parmesan cheese.

Cover with foil and bake 45 minutes.  Uncover and bake 15 minutes more.  Let stand for 15 minutes and serve.

Leave a Reply

