Taco Soup

20 Mar

When I didn’t work on Sundays dinner was quite the event as I had the time.  Since the parents moved away and I switched my work schedule to be off on Saturdays instead it’s been a different story.  I still need to eat so I tend to do crockpot meals.  We’ve had chicken dinners for the past several weeks so I thought it was time for a change.  I’ve made this meal many times before over the stove but the difference being my recipe did not have the corn or the ranch dressing mix.  Since I found this in the crockpot section I thought it was worth a try.  My house smelled so good!  The son came home and was very excited when he saw what was cooking in the crock.  This filled up the pot but when I came home from work a few hours later, these guys had killed it!  This is a meal that kids and men love.  Of course now the son said next time I need to make my crockpot taco meatloaf!  Maybe in a few weeks, stay tuned.

Adapted from Food.com

Taco Soup

serves 8-10

  • 1 (16 ounce) can great northern beans
  • 1 (16 ounce) can light kidney beans 
  • 1 (11 ounce) can niblet corn
  • 1 (11 ounce) can Rotel diced tomatoes
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (4 ounce) can diced green chilis 
  • 1 (1 1/4 ounce) envelope taco seasoning mix
  • 1 (1 ounce) envelope Hidden Valley ranch dressing mix
  • 1 lb shredded ground beef
  • optional toppings sour cream, shredded cheese, corn chips, chopped green onion

Cook meat and drain.  Add all ingredients to crock pot.  Do not drain liquid from the cans.  Stir, cooking on low heat for 4 hours.

Garnish with toppings of your choice.

Leave a Reply

