Chinese BBQ Stir-Fry

19 Apr

Chinese food, bbq and stir-fry what is not to like?!  I used to own a wok but to me it was no different than my skillet.  I love my cast iron skillet.  My husband bought it at a yard sale used over 20 years ago.  I’ve had other skillets that for one reason or another just never lasted.  I hand wash and season the skillet every time I use it.  The bad thing is, it is so heavy and my hands don’t have the strength like they used to but as long as I can lift it I will use that skillet and this dish is perfect for it.  It has that slightly sweet tang and I like to cook the cabbage longer than the original recipe.  I serve this over a coconut rice.  I just use a can of coconut juice, not milk, and cook the rice in that.  My husband can attest how good it is, he ate more than half for dinner!

Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

Chinese BBQ Stir-Fry

Makes 6 servings

  • 1 – 7.5 oz bottled hoisin sauce
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 3 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into bite-size strips
  • 2 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 1 medium sweet pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, thinly bias sliced
  • 2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 small head about 3-4 cups coarsely chopped Chinese cabbage

Heat 1 tablespoon of the cooking oil in a wok or 14″ skillet over medium-high heat.  Add pepper, onions and carrots and stir-fry 4-5 minutes or till crisp-tender.  Remove from skillet.

Heat remaining 1 tablespoon oil and add the chicken.  Stir-fry until no pink remains.Remove from skillet.

In a medium bowl combine hoisin sauce, vinegar, brown sugar, garlic powder and black pepper.  Stir cornstarch into marinade .  Add to skillet.  Cook and stir till thickened and bubbly.  Return chicken and vegetables to skillet.  Add the cabbage and continue to cook for 2-3 minutes. 

Serve over hot cooked rice.

Leave a Reply

