Rhubarb Pie

7 Sep

I can’t believe it’s been about 4 months or so since I have posted anything.  It’s been so crazy here with the wedding and all events related to it!  We did alot of work ourselves to include the dessert buffet.  Had no idea how much work we created for ourselves but the personal touches added so much and it allowed us to put the money towards other options.  I have to admit it was worthwhile.  Thank goodness for the video and soon pictures so I can piece it all together.  Talk about the quickest 6 hours of our lives.

I actually made this pie back in May but did not have the time to post it.  This is also a very old recipe that I copied from a cookbook years ago and I don’t have an idea where it came from.  My best guess is came from an amish cookbook.  I was in the mood for rhubarb pie and the produce department did not have any but I did find a bag in the freezer section.  The pie turned out just as good with frozen rhubarb.  I told my husband I was making this pie and his 1st words were “ew rhubarb”.  I told him not to knock until he tried it.  I gave him a small bite and he asked for a bigger piece and then took some with him.  My co-worker who also does not care for rhubarb pie said it was very good. 

Rhubarb Pie

  • 3 cups diced rhubarb
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoon water
  • 3 tablespoon flour
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 9″ unbaked pie shell

Place rhubarb in unbaked pie shell.

Combine remaining ingredients and stir to form a smooth paste.  Pour over the rhubarb.

Cover pie with crumbs made by mixing 3 tablespoons each of flour and sugar and 2 tablespoon butter until crumbly.

 

Bake at 425F for 10 minutes, then at 325F for 30 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

